← BackMaterial grade directory

30MNB5

5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 30MNB5 →

30MnB5 · DIN EN 10083-3-2007

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
DIN EN 10083-3-2007
Table / clause
Table 3 · Notes a–c
PDF page references
1、18

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4617–0.5717 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3315–0.4408Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3850–0.4750 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.27 ~ 0.33
Mn1.15 ~ 1.45
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
B0.0008 ~ 0.005
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Composition is based on Table 3 of EN10083-3:2006 in the official English text of DIN EN10083-3:2007-01, heat analysis wt%. ; Note a: Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent, except for additions needed to finish steelmaking and to enable boron to act on hardenability.; Unspecified values shall not be treated as zero. ; Note b: Small deviations are permitted where hardenability or quenched-and-tempered mechanical-property requirements apply, except for C/P/S; permitted deviations for other elements must not exceed Table 4.; Default heat analysis range shall not be expanded. ; For non-boron steels in this standard, Note c permits steel with improved machinability to be supplied on request: sulfur approximately 0.10%, with the Mn upper limit permitted to increase by an absolute 0.15%.; Approximate values are not default hard upper limits and must be determined by specific inquiry/order; they shall not be automatically mixed with ordinary grades. ; This standard covers alloy steels for quenching and tempering. Suitability for cold heading, wire-rod supply, annealing, surface and dimensions require separate confirmation; do not automatically add products..

Verification notes

Official English source cover, all 28 grades in Table 3 and notes a–c visually checked.

Permitted product-analysis deviations (must not be added to heat-analysis limits)

DIN EN10083-3:2007-01 (adopting EN10083-3:2006) · Table 4 and notes a/b, 7.1.2.2; Product analysis specified at ordering follows A.5 · PDF pages 11, 19, 55 · mass fraction wt%; Deviations are expressed in percentage points of mass percentage

The complete standard tolerance table applies only to elements specified in the original table for this grade and to the corresponding content/sulfur-range conditions; it does not widen heat-analysis composition, carbon equivalent or reverse-search ranges.

ElementSpecified maximum heat-analysis content, wt%Lower deviation, percentage pointsUpper deviation, percentage pointsApplicable conditions
C≤0.55-0.02+0.02Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
Si≤0.40The original table does not state a negative deviation+0.03Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
Mn≤1.00-0.04+0.04Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
Mn>1.00≤1.70-0.05+0.05Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
P≤0.025The original table does not state a negative deviation+0.005Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
S≤0.040The original table does not state a negative deviation+0.005Only the sulfur upper limit is specified; Note b’s full 0.020–0.040% range is not applied.
Cr≤2.00-0.05+0.05Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
Cr>2.00≤2.20-0.1+0.1Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
Mo≤0.30-0.03+0.03Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
Mo>0.30≤0.60-0.04+0.04Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
Ni≤2.00-0.05+0.05Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
Ni>2.00≤4.3-0.07+0.07Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
V≤0.25-0.02+0.02Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
B≤0.0050-0.0003+0.0003Select the cast-analysis maximum-content band specified in the original table
S≤0.040-0.005+0.005Only when Table 3 heat analysis explicitly specifies the full S range of 0.020–0.040% (Table 4, Note b).

This is a complete standard deviation table and does not imply that every element for this grade is specified; Elements not listed are not added on the basis of this table. Symmetric deviation for the same heat is permitted in only one direction, either upward or downward; Asymmetric deviation for Pb is only found in the Pb row of EN10087 and cannot be applied to other standards where Pb is not listed. Do not automatically expand heat analysis composition, carbon equivalent, or reverse-lookup ranges.

30MnB5 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Boron steels
Subcategory
Boron steels
Material form
Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
Composition basis
Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
Document title
Ovako Product Catalogue
PDF page references
46
Unit
Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
Analysis type
Typical composition analysis
Manufacturer
Ovako

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.

IIW / CEV: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
CTypical/nominal value 0.3 (not a guaranteed range)
SiTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
MnTypical/nominal value 1.3 (not a guaranteed range)

Applicability and limitations

Ovako 2024 product catalogue PDF, page 46; Manufacturer Typical analysis typical values, for composition reference only. The original table header does not explicitly state the unit; interpreted as manufacturer mass-percentage data; Not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; Excluded from limit-based reverse matching and carbon-equivalent calculations; blanks and entries giving only the element name Other are not filled with 0. Manufacturer codes: SB33M13B and BM 312.

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.

Source notes

Steel for wear resistance in thickness <15 mm. Good forming properties in the soft delivery state and high strength after heat treatment (hardening).

Other-element requirements

B

30MnB5 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Boron steels
Subcategory
Boron steels
Material form
Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
Composition basis
Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
Document title
Ovako Product Catalogue
PDF page references
77
Unit
Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
Analysis type
Typical composition analysis
Manufacturer
Ovako

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.

IIW / CEV: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
CTypical/nominal value 0.3 (not a guaranteed range)
SiTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
MnTypical/nominal value 1.3 (not a guaranteed range)

Applicability and limitations

Ovako 2024 product catalogue PDF, page 77. Manufacturer Typical analysis typical values are composition references only. Units are not explicitly stated in the original header and are interpreted as mass fraction % from the manufacturer's documentation. These are neither standard-guaranteed values nor measured heat-analysis results. They are excluded from limit-based reverse lookup and carbon-equivalent calculations. Blank entries, and Other given only as an element name, are not assigned 0. Manufacturer code: SB33M13B.

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.

Source notes

Steel for wear resistance in thickness <15 mm

Other-element requirements

B

30MnB5 · EN ISO 683-2-2018

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Boron steels
Subcategory
Boron-alloyed steel for quenching and tempering
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
EN ISO 683-2-2018
Table / clause
Table 3, notes a–d; clause 7.1.2; Table 4 limits
PDF page references
22
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis; not product analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4617–0.5983Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3315–0.4608Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3850–0.4950Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.27 ~ 0.33
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Mn1.15 ~ 1.45
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
B0.0008 ~ 0.005

Applicability and limitations

Table 3 herein applies to heat (cast) analysis, mass fraction wt%; The permissible deviations for product analysis in Table 4 shall not be directly added to the limits in general Table 3. This document is EN ISO 683-2:2018, adopted without modification and accompanied by the text of ISO 683-2:2016; This record explicitly preserves the identity of EN ISO 683-2-2018 and shall not be called the ISO 2018 edition. Only the chemical composition and source conditions of Table 3 are verified; this does not constitute a guarantee of hardenability, heat treatment, mechanical properties, wire delivery state, or cold heading process. Note a: deviations in heat analysis apply only when hardenability requirements are specified; The deviation in C shall not exceed ±0.01%; P/S is excluded, and the other elements follow Table 4. General Table 3 shall not be automatically relaxed, nor shall H/HH/HL be merged with general grades. Note b: Steel with S increased to approximately 0.10% (including sulfide morphology control) or with the addition of Pb to improve machinability may be requested from the supplier; When S is increased, the upper limit of Mn may be increased by 0.15 percentage points. This agreement is not a default requirement, and approximate values shall not serve as precise automatic limits for this batch; if the Pb range is not listed, values shall not be borrowed from other standards. Original Note: Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the consent of the purchaser, except those required to complete the melting process; Elements introduced via scrap steel etc. shall be controlled. An unlisted value must not be assumed to be zero. Si in this row is given only as ≤0.40%, with no lower limit listed; do not supplement with 0.10%; B is retained as 0.0008–0.0050% per the Others column of the original table.

Verification notes

Original-image verification of all 25 physical rows and merged cells in Table 3; reuse existing independently cropped evidence for 5 same-source rows and 40 cells, transcribe the remaining cells individually from the source images, and record the two editions separately.

30MnB5 · ISO 683-2-2016

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Boron steels
Subcategory
Boron-alloyed steel for quenching and tempering
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ISO 683-2-2016
Table / clause
Table 3, notes a–d; clause 7.1.2; Table 4 limits
PDF page references
22
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis; not product analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4617–0.5983Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3315–0.4608Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3850–0.4950Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.27 ~ 0.33
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Mn1.15 ~ 1.45
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
B0.0008 ~ 0.005

Applicability and limitations

Table 3 herein applies to heat (cast) analysis, mass fraction wt%; The permissible deviations for product analysis in Table 4 shall not be directly added to the limits in general Table 3. This document is EN ISO 683-2:2018, adopted without modification and accompanied by the text of ISO 683-2:2016; This record explicitly preserves the identity of ISO 683-2-2016 and shall not be called the ISO 2018 edition. Only the chemical composition and source conditions of Table 3 are verified; this does not constitute a guarantee of hardenability, heat treatment, mechanical properties, wire delivery state, or cold heading process. Note a: deviations in heat analysis apply only when hardenability requirements are specified; The deviation in C shall not exceed ±0.01%; P/S is excluded, and the other elements follow Table 4. General Table 3 shall not be automatically relaxed, nor shall H/HH/HL be merged with general grades. Note b: Steel with S increased to approximately 0.10% (including sulfide morphology control) or with the addition of Pb to improve machinability may be requested from the supplier; When S is increased, the upper limit of Mn may be increased by 0.15 percentage points. This agreement is not a default requirement, and approximate values shall not serve as precise automatic limits for this batch; if the Pb range is not listed, values shall not be borrowed from other standards. Original Note: Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the consent of the purchaser, except those required to complete the melting process; Elements introduced via scrap steel etc. shall be controlled. An unlisted value must not be assumed to be zero. Si in this row is given only as ≤0.40%, with no lower limit listed; do not supplement with 0.10%; B is retained as 0.0008–0.0050% per the Others column of the original table.

Verification notes

Original-image verification of all 25 physical rows and merged cells in Table 3; reuse existing independently cropped evidence for 5 same-source rows and 40 cells, transcribe the remaining cells individually from the source images, and record the two editions separately.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →