← BackMaterial grade directory

20MNCR5

5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 20MNCR5 →

20MnCr5 · DIN EN 10084-2008

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
DIN EN 10084-2008
Table / clause
Table 3, notes a–d

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.5533–0.7133Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3683Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4250Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.22
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cr1.0 ~ 1.3

Applicability and limitations

Ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%; the DIN EN 10084:2008-06 cover expressly identifies the German edition of EN 10084:2008; Table 3 follows that source text. Note b: minor composition deviations associated with hardenability requirements must be checked separately against Table 4 and the applicable conditions; they do not widen default ranges, and no such relaxation applies to P/S. Note c: higher S (approximately up to 0.10%) or Pb may be requested for improved machinability; in the higher-S case, the Mn upper limit may increase by 0.15 percentage points. Actual agreed values are not given; do not invent them or apply them automatically. Note d: B in this table improves toughness in the hardened case, not hardenability. Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser approval (except as necessary during steelmaking); unspecified does not mean zero. A delivery standard for case-hardening steel does not mean all conditions are suitable for cold heading; verify mechanical properties, hardness and hardenability separately.

Verification notes

Original German Table 3 and its footnotes checked

Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)

EN 10084:2008 · DIN EN 10084:2008-06, cover explicitly states German version of EN 10084:2008 · Table 5/Table 6/Table 8/Table 9; 7.1.2 and 8.2.2 · PDF pages 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23

+H Normal hardenability band (7.1.2; applies to alloy steels in this standard unless otherwise agreed)

End-quench test condition temperature 870 (tolerance not listed in source document) °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54149
33949
53648
73346
93043
112842
132641
152539
202337
252135
30Unspecified; do not treat as 034
35Unspecified; do not treat as 033
40Unspecified; do not treat as 032

+HH Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)

End-quench test condition temperature 870 (tolerance not listed in source document) °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54449
34249
54048
73746
93443
113342
133141
153039
202837
252635
302534
352433
402332

+HL Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)

End-quench test condition temperature 870 (tolerance not listed in source document) °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54146
33946
53644
73342
93039
112837
132636
152534
202332
252130
30Unspecified; do not treat as 029
35Unspecified; do not treat as 028
40Unspecified; do not treat as 027

20MnCr5 · ISO 683-18-1996

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Case-hardening steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ISO 683-18-1996
Table / clause
Table3 and footnote 1–5; 7.2.2.1–7.2.2.2
PDF page references
6、11、12、13

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.5533–0.7233Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2800–0.3783Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4350Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Si0.15 ~ 0.4
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cr1.0 ~ 1.3

Applicability and limitations

ISO 683-18:1996 Bright non-alloy and low-alloy steel products, Table 3 Heat analysis of carburizing steels, mass fraction wt%; This is not a composition confirmation of the 2014 edition. ; This source is a 13-page public excerpt from the official version; complete composition rows and 5 footnotes from Table 3 have been obtained.; Without Table 4 product-analysis tolerances, Tables 7/8 hardenability data and Chapter 8 compositions of steels for quenching and tempering, verification of the entire standard must not be claimed complete.. ; Currently displaying the range for common grades in Table 3. When hardenability requirements are specified, Footnote 1 allows limited deviations except for P/S, with C not exceeding ±0.01% and other elements subject to Table 4; The absence of Table 4 shall not automatically relax ranges, nor shall it be used for the acceptance of H grades. ; Machinability may be improved by adding lead or controlling sulfide shape upon request; Where lead values are not specified, they shall not be filled as zero or assigned an arbitrary range. ; For other carburizing steels, see ISO 683-11:1987; Different suffix names in the 2014 edition shall not be automatically regarded as the same grade in the 1996 edition. ; A lower Si may be agreed upon during inquiry and ordering, provided the impact on mechanical properties is considered; The base ranges in Table 3 are currently used; do not remove the Si lower limit arbitrarily.. ; Elements not listed in the table must not be assumed to have zero content.; Unlisted elements shall not be intentionally added without the buyer's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking), and elements affecting properties introduced via scrap steel etc. shall be prevented. ; Clause 7.2.2.1 stipulates that Table 3 is used for heat analysis; Product-analysis tolerances are given in Table 4, which has not been obtained.. Clause 5.1.2 requires killed steel. Carbide spheroidizing annealing conditions required for cold-heading/cold-extrusion are covered separately by ISO 4954; cold-heading applicability cannot be determined solely by composition.

Verification notes

All rows, merged cells and footnotes in the publicly available official-edition excerpt, Table 3 were visually checked item by item; Only ordinary-grade heat composition has been confirmed

20MnCr5 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
Composition basis
Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
Document title
Ovako Product Catalogue
PDF page references
43
Unit
Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
Analysis type
Typical composition analysis
Manufacturer
Ovako

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.

IIW / CEV: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
CTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
SiTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
MnTypical/nominal value 1.3 (not a guaranteed range)
CrTypical/nominal value 1.2 (not a guaranteed range)

Applicability and limitations

Ovako 2024 product catalogue PDF, page 43. Manufacturer Typical analysis typical values are composition references only. Units are not explicitly stated in the original header and are interpreted as mass fraction % from the manufacturer's documentation. These are neither standard-guaranteed values nor measured heat-analysis results. They are excluded from limit-based reverse lookup and carbon-equivalent calculations. Blank entries, and Other given only as an element name, are not assigned 0. Manufacturer codes: 236, 4326.

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.

Source notes

For small-sized transmission components, moderate core hardness.

20MnCr5 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
Composition basis
Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
Document title
Ovako Product Catalogue
PDF page references
66
Unit
Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
Analysis type
Typical composition analysis
Manufacturer
Ovako

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.

IIW / CEV: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
CTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
SiTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
MnTypical/nominal value 1.3 (not a guaranteed range)
CrTypical/nominal value 1.2 (not a guaranteed range)

Applicability and limitations

Ovako 2024 product catalogue, PDF page 66; manufacturer’s typical analysis, for composition reference only. The original header does not explicitly state units; interpreted using the manufacturer’s mass-fraction % information. Neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis. Excluded from limit-based reverse search and carbon-equivalent calculation; blanks and element names alone in the other-elements field are not filled with 0. Manufacturer code: 236.

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.

Source notes

For small-sized transmission components, moderate core Hardness, available as IQ

20MnCr5 · DIN EN 10277:2018-09

Original table in an informative annex verified; normative composition requirements and edition still require verification. For reference only.

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Composition basis
Heat analysis in an informative annex; for reference only
Verification status
Original table in an informative annex verified; normative composition requirements and edition still require verification
Standard edition
DIN EN 10277:2018-09
Table / clause
Informative Annex A.3
PDF page references
45
Unit
mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis (informative reference)

Carbon-equivalent reference

Composition from an informative standard annex is for reference only. Normative composition and edition remain unverified; standard-range carbon equivalents and reverse matching are disabled.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.22
Si0.15 ~ 0.4
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cr1.0 ~ 1.3
Cu≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

The original informative-annex table has been checked and is for reference only. Clause 7.1.2 requires chemical composition to be determined under the cited standard; the formal normative composition and applicable edition remain unverified. Do not use it as a delivery guarantee, a reverse-search acceptance criterion or a basis for standard-range carbon equivalent.

Composition conditions

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

The original informative-annex table has been checked and is for reference only. Clause 7.1.2 requires chemical composition to be determined under the cited standard; the formal normative composition and applicable edition remain unverified. Do not use it as a delivery guarantee, a reverse-search acceptance criterion or a basis for standard-range carbon equivalent.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →