20MNB4
11 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 20MNB4 →20MnB4 · EN 10263
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Drawn wire
- Original record status
- Reference transcription of standard
- Standard edition
- BS EN 10263-4:2017
- Table / clause
- Table 4
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
Heat analysis; see the source page for footnotes and agreement-based options. An unspecified range is not zero. The early temporary 2001 extraction has been replaced with the 2017 original. The website does not state an edition; this entry shows the edition of its source and does not establish contractual applicability.
Verification notes
Standard source: BS EN 10263-4:2017 · Table 4View associated products →20MnB4 · ISO 4954
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Cold-heading wire
- Original record status
- Reference transcription of standard
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table C.3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ISO 4954:2018; heat analysis, mass fraction %; values without a stated range are upper limits; see the source page for complete table footnotes. The website does not specify the edition; the source edition is shown here and does not establish contractual applicability.
Verification notes
Standard source: ISO 4954:2018 · Table C.3View associated products →20MnB4 · ISO 4954-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Steel for quenching and tempering
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table C.3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ISO 4954:2018, Table C.3 gives heat analysis; A single value is a maximum; a dash is not zero. ; Product-analysis tolerances are listed separately under Table 2/3 of the standard and do not directly widen the heat-analysis composition ranges. ; Optional Al0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance; this is not a universal mandatory minimum. ; Low Si may be agreed in the order, taking hardenability into account; Where hardenability is required, the standard permits limited deviations, except for P/S; C must not exceed 0.01%; see Table 2 for the other requirements. ; When a Cr maximum of 0.30% is specified, a minimum Cr may be agreed at ordering; 30MoB1 requires guaranteed hardenability, with Cr minimum 0.15% and an upper limit adjustable by agreement.
Verification notes
The original standard, Table C.3 and footnotes have been checked20MnB4 · EN 10263-4-2017
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10263-4-2017
- Table / clause
- Table 4 and notes
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default heat composition listed in the table; optional Al addition not selected.
Note 3: optional Al addition of 0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance.
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
EN10263-4:2017, Table 4, heat analysis, mass percent. ; Elements not listed shall not be filled as 0; they shall not be intentionally added without the consent of the purchaser, except additions needed to finish steelmaking. ; Note 2 allows the specification of small deviations when hardenability requirements exist, but this does not involve P/S; The default composition range is not expanded here; it must be combined with specific hardenability ordering conditions. ; Note 3 allows Al 0.020–0.050% to be listed separately; it shall not be defaulted as mandatory aluminum content. ; Mechanical properties and delivery conditions are to be verified separately; the standard range is not a guarantee for the forming of arbitrary parts. ; The text of Table 4 Note a indicates that a Cr lower limit may be agreed upon for grades with Cr≤.30%; the table header Footnote a is located at Si; the ambiguity of the original position is retained, and clear Si table values shall not be changed nor low Si conditions arbitrarily set based on this. ; The Cr lower limit of .15 in Table 4 Note b applies only to the core hardenability requirements of 1.5408 (30MoB1) and shall not be applied to other grades such as 30MnB4; Agreement to reduce the Cr upper limit must include a specific limit value.
Original condition-branch records
Default heat composition listed in the table; optional Al addition not selected.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Note 3: optional Al addition of 0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Al | 0.02 ~ 0.05 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Visual check of Tables 3 and 4 and footnotes in the English original20MnB4 · DIN EN 10263-4-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-4-2002
- Table / clause
- Table 3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN10263-4:2002-02 adopts EN10263-4:2001; the edition relationship is expressly identified on the cover; Heat-analysis mass percentages. ; Historical Table 2/3 contains no optional Al addition note for 2017; newer-edition conditions are not applied. ; Table 2, note c permits an agreed carbon range of width .04%; tabulated defaults are unchanged without a specific agreement. ; Table 2, note d and Table 3, note c permit agreed lower Si, considering effects on properties/hardenability; no range is invented where none is specified. ; Unlisted elements are not entered as zero; Table 2, note a: intentional additions without purchaser consent are prohibited except to finish the heat; residuals may be present but must not impair properties. ; Table 2, note b permits specified deviations where hardenability is required, except for P/S; The default composition range is not widened here. ; Mechanical properties, delivery and hardenability require separate verification; suitability for forming a specific component requires separate confirmation. ; Historical Table 3, note d: minima for grades with Cr≤.30 may be agreed, but no general value is given; the 30MoB1 core-hardening .15 option from 2017 is not copied.
Verification notes
Older-edition Tables 2 and 3 and footnotes visually checked; equivalence to the newer edition is not assumed.20MnB4 · EN 10269-2013
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10269-2013
- Table / clause
- Table1 quenched-and-tempered steels and note a/b/c
- PDF page references
- 17、19
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Al | ≥ 0.02 (upper limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
EN10269:2013 Table 1, section on steels for quenching and tempering; official BS adoption in English, PDF17 and footnotes PDF19; heat analysis wt%.. ; The Al column is total aluminum; For ≥.020 without a specified upper limit, only the lower limit is retained; no upper limit shall be created. ; Note b sulfur agreement applies only to grades with Note b; 27NiCrMoV15-6 magnetic properties Note c carbon upper limit .28 selected separately. ; Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the consent of the purchaser, except additions needed to finish steelmaking; Blank does not represent zero. ; Product analysis deviation, mechanical properties, heat treatment, and cold-heading supply suitability shall be verified separately, and not automatically added to the product center.
Verification notes
Quenched-and-tempered steels in official English Table 1 and the applicable footnotes were visually checked20MnB4 · Q/BQB 517-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Cold-heading steel
- Material form
- Hot-rolled steel wire rod for cold heading
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- Q/BQB 517—2023
- Table / clause
- 6.1.1/Table 1, row 56, note a
- PDF page references
- 10
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Q/BQB 517—2023, official original on the Baosteel website, Table 1, row 56; cast-analysis mass fraction wt%. Table footnote a: residual Cr≤0.20, Ni≤0.20, Cu≤0.20, Mo≤0.06 wt%; where this row specifies otherwise, its requirement for that element takes precedence. Unlisted elements and special agreement requirements must not be treated as zero or assumed guarantees; permitted product-analysis deviations are governed separately by GB/T 222. Wire rod is delivered hot rolled; stricter P/S under Z1 and special surface or inclusion quality must be confirmed under normative Annex A and the contractual ordering codes. Fixed mechanical properties must not be inferred from the chemistry table.
Verification notes
All 104 rows of Table 1 and 34 rows of Table 2 in the original Q/BQB517:2023 from Baosteel’s official website were checked row by row; not mixed with older editions.20MnB4 · Q/ZNGF 01.7—2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Cold-heading steel
- Subcategory
- Cold-heading steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- 2023 Edition; Published 2023-09-21, implemented 2023-10-01; Supersedes Q/SG18—2022
- Document title
- Steel wire rod for cold heading and cold extrusion
- Table / clause
- Table 1
- PDF page references
- 6
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Manufacturer
- Guangdong Zhongnan Iron & Steel Co., Ltd.
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cr | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Zhongnan Steel Q/ZNGF 01.7—2023, Table 1, row 42 (PDF page 6), cast analysis wt%; footnotes, delivery process and orders must be confirmed against the corresponding edition. This does not constitute a supply commitment by Creation Group.
Composition conditions
- Table 1 heat analysis, mass fractions wt%; A dash means no limit is listed, not zero.
- Clause 6.1.4 residual impurities Cr, Ni and Cu are each ≤0.20%; Where Cr is intentionally added, the corresponding row limits apply instead of residual maxima.
- Wire rod is delivered in the hot-rolled condition; The ordinary cold-upsetting level is 1/2; high and relatively high levels must be specified in the contract.
Verification notes
2023 edition: all 69 rows of Table 1 and notes a/b/c checked line by line; process suffixes -1/-2/-3 distinguished from footnote letters.20MnB4 · Q/XG 243-2019
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Boron steels
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- Q/XG 243-2019
- Table / clause
- Table 2, row 8
- PDF page references
- 2
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Mass fraction wt%; Q/XG 243-2019 heat analysis; Local PDF, page 2. Check product-analysis tolerances under GB/T 222; Heat-analysis ranges are not directly treated as guaranteed product-analysis ranges. The enterprise standard covers passenger-vehicle cold-heading steel wire rod requiring vehicle-manufacturer approval; it does not establish Creation Group stock availability, customer approval or substitution approval.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
Verification notes
Original Q/XG 243-2019, Table 2 PDF, page 2: rows and merged cells were visually checked20MnB4 · BEXG 021-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Cold-heading steel
- Subcategory
- Cold-heading steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- BEXG 021-2020, sixteenth revision stated on the cover; issued and effective on 2020-12-29; The latest original document available on this computer only
- Document title
- Technical delivery conditions for cold-heading steel wire rod for automotive parts
- Table / clause
- Table 1
- PDF page references
- 5
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Manufacturer
- Baoshan Iron & Steel Co., Ltd. (Baosteel)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.18 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Baosteel BEXG 021-2020, Table 1, row 28, PDF page 5; heat-analysis composition in wt%, hot-rolled wire rod. 2020 is the original edition available locally, with no claim that it is the company’s current latest edition. Special conditions and actual supply require separate confirmation.
Composition conditions
- Table 1 and its continuation give heat composition, in mass fractions wt%; The product is hot-rolled wire rod for automotive parts.
- Unless expressly stated otherwise, residual Cr≤0.20%, Ni≤0.20%, Cu≤0.20% and Mo≤0.06% apply; Specific requirements in the table and additional notes take precedence.
- A dash does not mean zero; Composition outside the table is not inferred from grade names or referenced standards.
Verification notes
Table 1 original images checked page by page, physical pages 3–10; continuation values and other columns kept separate; two disputed rows excluded.Source footnotes
B:0.0008-0.0050,Cu≤0.2520MnB4 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Boron steels
- Subcategory
- Boron steels
- Material form
- Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
- Composition basis
- Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
- Document title
- Ovako Product Catalogue
- PDF page references
- 46
- Unit
- Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
- Analysis type
- Typical composition analysis
- Manufacturer
- Ovako
Carbon-equivalent reference
Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | Typical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Si | Typical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Mn | Typical/nominal value 1.3 (not a guaranteed range) |
Applicability and limitations
Ovako 2024 product catalogue PDF, page 46; Manufacturer Typical analysis typical values, for composition reference only. The original table header does not explicitly state the unit; interpreted as manufacturer mass-percentage data; Not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; Excluded from limit-based reverse matching and carbon-equivalent calculations; blanks and entries giving only the element name Other are not filled with 0. Manufacturer codes: SB23M12B and BM 212.
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- Units
- Source conditions
- The original table header does not state units explicitly; interpreted as mass fraction % using the manufacturer’s official chemistry information. This table does not itself print wt%.
- Footnote
- Typical analysis
- Source conditions
- All values are manufacturer’s typical single values, not limits or measured heat analysis; not used for limit-based reverse search or standard-range carbon equivalent.
- Footnote
- Grade designation
- Source conditions
- An asterisk after the original grade indicates a non-official EN standard designation, named only according to EN10027. This does not complete verification of the cited standard originals or editions.