20MN5
4 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 20MN5 →20Mn5 · EN 10269-2013
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10269-2013
- Table / clause
- Table1 quenched-and-tempered steels and note a/b/c
- PDF page references
- 17、19
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.5 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Al | ≥ 0.02 (upper limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
EN10269:2013 Table 1, section on steels for quenching and tempering; official BS adoption in English, PDF17 and footnotes PDF19; heat analysis wt%.. ; The Al column is total aluminum; For ≥.020 without a specified upper limit, only the lower limit is retained; no upper limit shall be created. ; Note b sulfur agreement applies only to grades with Note b; 27NiCrMoV15-6 magnetic properties Note c carbon upper limit .28 selected separately. ; Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the consent of the purchaser, except additions needed to finish steelmaking; Blank does not represent zero. ; Product analysis deviation, mechanical properties, heat treatment, and cold-heading supply suitability shall be verified separately, and not automatically added to the product center.
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- Cr
- Mo
- Ni
- Upper limit
- 0.63
Verification notes
Quenched-and-tempered steels in official English Table 1 and the applicable footnotes were visually checked20Mn5 · NF EN 10269:1999
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- NF EN 10269:1999
- Table / clause
- EN 10269:1999 Table 1 and footnotes 1 and 2
- PDF page references
- 2、21、23
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.5 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Al | ≥ 0.02 (upper limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The cover of NF EN 10269:1999 explicitly adopts EN 10269:1999; Preserve the correspondence between the French adoption version and the European version; do not label as other countries or new editions. ; Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass percentages; Single values in P and S columns are upper limits; other single values are parsed according to the inequality signs in the original table; Unspecified elements shall not be filled as zero. ; Applies to billets, bars and wire rod of steels and nickel alloys for fasteners with specified high- or low-temperature properties.; Cold heading and actual supply must be verified in conjunction with delivery condition, dimensions, and process. ; Table 1 Footnote 1: Elements not listed in the table shall not be intentionally added without the buyer's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); Elements that affect properties must be prevented from being introduced via scrap steel, etc.. ; This record only verifies the heat analysis composition in Table 1; product analysis tolerances in Table 2 shall not be automatically added to the heat limits.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Cr+Mo+Ni≤0.63%
- Element coefficient
- Cr
- 1
- Mo
- 1
- Ni
- 1
- Upper limit
- 0.63
20Mn5 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
- Composition basis
- Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
- Document title
- Ovako Product Catalogue
- PDF page references
- 44
- Unit
- Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
- Analysis type
- Typical composition analysis
- Manufacturer
- Ovako
Carbon-equivalent reference
Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | Typical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Si | Typical/nominal value 0.4 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Mn | Typical/nominal value 1.3 (not a guaranteed range) |
Applicability and limitations
Ovako 2024 product catalogue, PDF page 44; manufacturer’s typical analysis, for composition reference only. The original header does not explicitly state units; interpreted using the manufacturer’s mass-fraction % information. Neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis. Excluded from limit-based reverse search and carbon-equivalent calculation; blanks and element names alone in the other-elements field are not filled with 0. Manufacturer code: 2630.
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- Units
- Source conditions
- The original table header does not state units explicitly; interpreted as mass fraction % using the manufacturer’s official chemistry information. This table does not itself print wt%.
- Footnote
- Typical analysis
- Source conditions
- All values are manufacturer’s typical single values, not limits or measured heat analysis; not used for limit-based reverse search or standard-range carbon equivalent.
- Footnote
- Grade designation
- Source conditions
- An asterisk after the original grade indicates a non-official EN standard designation, named only according to EN10027. This does not complete verification of the cited standard originals or editions.
Verification notes
All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.Source notes
Also known as Hydax 25. High temperature constructional weldable steelOther-element requirements
S20Mn5 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
- Composition basis
- Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
- Document title
- Ovako Product Catalogue
- PDF page references
- 73
- Unit
- Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
- Analysis type
- Typical composition analysis
- Manufacturer
- Ovako
Carbon-equivalent reference
Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | Typical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Si | Typical/nominal value 0.4 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Mn | Typical/nominal value 1.3 (not a guaranteed range) |
Applicability and limitations
Ovako 2024 product catalogue, PDF page 73; manufacturer’s typical analysis, for composition reference only. The original header does not explicitly state units; interpreted using the manufacturer’s mass-fraction % information. Neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis. Excluded from limit-based reverse search and carbon-equivalent calculation; blanks and element names alone in the other-elements field are not filled with 0. Manufacturer code: 2630.
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- Units
- Source conditions
- The original table header does not state units explicitly; interpreted as mass fraction % using the manufacturer’s official chemistry information. This table does not itself print wt%.
- Footnote
- Typical analysis
- Source conditions
- All values are manufacturer’s typical single values, not limits or measured heat analysis; not used for limit-based reverse search or standard-range carbon equivalent.
- Footnote
- Grade designation
- Source conditions
- An asterisk after the original grade indicates a non-official EN standard designation, named only according to EN10027. This does not complete verification of the cited standard originals or editions.