18CRMO4
14 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 18CRMO4 →18CrMo4 · ISO 4954
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Cold-heading wire
- Original record status
- Source edition identified; composition verification pending
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table B.2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Composition based on ISO 4954:2018; the product edition is unspecified, so confirm the edition applicable to the contract.
Composition conditions
- ISO 4954:2018 Table B.2 specifies heat analysis; a single value is an upper limit, and a dash is not zero.
- Product-analysis tolerances are listed separately under Table 2/3 of the standard and do not directly widen the heat-analysis composition ranges.
- Optional Al0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance; this is not a universal mandatory minimum.
- Low Si may be agreed in the order, taking hardenability into account; Where hardenability is required, the standard permits limited deviations, except for P/S; C must not exceed 0.01%; see Table 2 for the other requirements.
Verification notes
Composition based on ISO 4954:2018; the product edition is unspecified, so confirm the edition applicable to the contract.View associated products →18CrMo4 · ISO 4954-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Case-hardening steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table B.2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ISO 4954:2018, Table B.2 gives heat analysis; A single value is a maximum; a dash is not zero. ; Product-analysis tolerances are listed separately under Table 2/3 of the standard and do not directly widen the heat-analysis composition ranges. ; Optional Al0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance; this is not a universal mandatory minimum. ; Low Si may be agreed in the order, taking hardenability into account; Where hardenability is required, the standard permits limited deviations, except for P/S; C must not exceed 0.01%; see Table 2 for the other requirements.
Verification notes
Original standard Table B.2 and footnotes verified18CrMo4 · EN 10263-3-2017
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10263-3-2017
- Table / clause
- Table 3 and notes 1–3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.
Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Heat analysis mass fraction wt%; Allowable deviations for product analysis shall follow Table 4; this table shall not be expanded unconditionally.. ; Si may be agreed at a lower content or a specific range at the time of ordering; the default in this table is ≤0.30%.. ; To improve cold-heading performance, Al 0.020–0.050% may be optionally added (Note 3); Al is not mandatory for all grades. ; Small deviations for hardenability orders must satisfy Note 2 and Table 4.; P/S shall not be relaxed by this means; the default composition table shall not be automatically expanded.. ; Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); unspecified does not represent zero.. ; This standard is for cold-heading and cold-extrusion, but specific product supply still requires confirmation of dimensions, delivery condition, surface, and performance requirements..
Original condition-branch records
Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Al | 0.02 ~ 0.05 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The original English Table 3 and notes have been checked18CrMo4 · ISO 4954-1-2024
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954-1-2024
- Table / clause
- Table B.2 and notes a–d
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default heat composition in Table B.2
Uses an addition of Al intended to improve cold-heading performance, Al≤0.050%
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Applicability and limitations
Mass fraction wt%; Table B.2 heat analysis; see Table 2 separately for product-analysis tolerances. ; Note a: Al≤0.050% may be added to improve cold heading, but is not mandatory by default. ; Note c: A lower Si or a specified Si range may be requested by agreement; specific agreements have not yet been provided and shall not be filled in arbitrarily. ; When hardenability requirements exist, the small deviations permitted in Table B.6/B.7 must be verified separately according to Table 2 and conditions; the default composition range shall not be expanded. ; Elements not listed must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except additions needed to finish steelmaking; Unspecified values are not treated as zero. ; Mechanical properties/hardenability have not been supplemented in this batch; Cold heading applicability must be determined in conjunction with dimensions, state, and technical conditions.
Original condition-branch records
Default heat composition in Table B.2
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Uses an addition of Al intended to improve cold-heading performance, Al≤0.050%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Al | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The original English text of 2024, Table B.2 and footnotes have been checked18CrMo4 · DIN EN 10084-2008
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10084-2008
- Table / clause
- Table 3, notes a–d
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Applicability and limitations
Ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%; the DIN EN 10084:2008-06 cover expressly identifies the German edition of EN 10084:2008; Table 3 follows that source text. Note b: minor composition deviations associated with hardenability requirements must be checked separately against Table 4 and the applicable conditions; they do not widen default ranges, and no such relaxation applies to P/S. Note c: higher S (approximately up to 0.10%) or Pb may be requested for improved machinability; in the higher-S case, the Mn upper limit may increase by 0.15 percentage points. Actual agreed values are not given; do not invent them or apply them automatically. Note d: B in this table improves toughness in the hardened case, not hardenability. Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser approval (except as necessary during steelmaking); unspecified does not mean zero. A delivery standard for case-hardening steel does not mean all conditions are suitable for cold heading; verify mechanical properties, hardness and hardenability separately.
Verification notes
Original German Table 3 and its footnotes checkedJominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10084:2008 · DIN EN 10084:2008-06, cover explicitly states German version of EN 10084:2008 · Table 5/Table 6/Table 8/Table 9; 7.1.2 and 8.2.2 · PDF pages 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23
- 7.1.2: Unless otherwise agreed, Table 5 normal +H hardenability requirements apply to alloy steels in this standard; restricted +HH/+HL bands in Table 6 must be agreed at enquiry/order. Viewing a selection is not contractual confirmation and does not change the ordinary grade designation or order conditions.
- HRC is hardness at a specified distance on a Jominy end-quench specimen, not bulk finished-part hardness, cold-heading acceptance, supply capability or part-performance guarantee.
- Horizontal lines preserve unspecified upper and lower limits and shall not be treated as 0; Do not automatically interpolate, extrapolate, or assess compliance at unlisted distances.
- Table 8 temperatures are austenitizing conditions for the Jominy specimen, not production heat-treatment recommendations. No temperature tolerance is given; do not add ±5°C. Table 8 Note a holding time is indicative only, not a guaranteed requirement.
- 8.2.2 permits the manufacturer to demonstrate hardenability by calculation where a suitable formula exists; the manufacturer chooses the method and, when agreed at enquiry/order, supplies sufficient information for customer review. This tool has not implemented or certified such calculations.
- If no applicable formula exists or a dispute arises, use the end-quench test in EN ISO 642 and Table 9; use Table 8 specimen quenching temperature and the C scale of EN ISO 6508-1 for hardness. The source cites ISO 642:1999 and ISO 6508-1:2005; do not update the cited years.
- Table 9: When inspection certificates and corresponding requirements of Table 1 are applicable, heat C shall be the test unit, with 1 sample per 1 test. When dimensions do not allow for the preparation of end-quench specimens, the conditions for proving hardenability must be agreed upon; In other cases, unless otherwise agreed, the specimen preparation method shall be determined by the manufacturer.
- Table 9 sampling note b is printed “20 m”, conflicting in units with “20 mm” in note c; defer automatic interpretation of that sampling depth. Do not silently correct it or use it as a specimen-preparation instruction.
- The DIN original explicitly adopts EN10084:2008; display only according to this EN technical source; The supplementation of hardenability in this batch shall not be used to claim that the NF standard cover or other standard identities have been verified.
+H Normal hardenability band (7.1.2; applies to alloy steels in this standard unless otherwise agreed)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 39 | 47 |
| 3 | 37 | 46 |
| 5 | 34 | 45 |
| 7 | 30 | 42 |
| 9 | 27 | 39 |
| 11 | 24 | 37 |
| 13 | 22 | 35 |
| 15 | 21 | 34 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 31 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
+HH Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 42 | 47 |
| 3 | 40 | 46 |
| 5 | 38 | 45 |
| 7 | 34 | 42 |
| 9 | 31 | 39 |
| 11 | 28 | 37 |
| 13 | 26 | 35 |
| 15 | 25 | 34 |
| 20 | 22 | 31 |
| 25 | 20 | 29 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
+HL Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 39 | 44 |
| 3 | 37 | 43 |
| 5 | 34 | 41 |
| 7 | 30 | 38 |
| 9 | 27 | 35 |
| 11 | 24 | 33 |
| 13 | 22 | 31 |
| 15 | 21 | 30 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 23 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 22 |
18CrMo4 · EN 10084-2008
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10084-2008
- Table / clause
- Table 3, notes a–d
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Applicability and limitations
Ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%; the DIN EN 10084:2008-06 cover expressly identifies the German edition of EN 10084:2008; Table 3 follows that source text. Note b: minor composition deviations associated with hardenability requirements must be checked separately against Table 4 and the applicable conditions; they do not widen default ranges, and no such relaxation applies to P/S. Note c: higher S (approximately up to 0.10%) or Pb may be requested for improved machinability; in the higher-S case, the Mn upper limit may increase by 0.15 percentage points. Actual agreed values are not given; do not invent them or apply them automatically. Note d: B in this table improves toughness in the hardened case, not hardenability. Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser approval (except as necessary during steelmaking); unspecified does not mean zero. A delivery standard for case-hardening steel does not mean all conditions are suitable for cold heading; verify mechanical properties, hardness and hardenability separately.
Verification notes
Original German Table 3 and its footnotes checkedJominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10084:2008 · DIN EN 10084:2008-06, cover explicitly states German version of EN 10084:2008 · Table 5/Table 6/Table 8/Table 9; 7.1.2 and 8.2.2 · PDF pages 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23
- 7.1.2: Unless otherwise agreed, Table 5 normal +H hardenability requirements apply to alloy steels in this standard; restricted +HH/+HL bands in Table 6 must be agreed at enquiry/order. Viewing a selection is not contractual confirmation and does not change the ordinary grade designation or order conditions.
- HRC is hardness at a specified distance on a Jominy end-quench specimen, not bulk finished-part hardness, cold-heading acceptance, supply capability or part-performance guarantee.
- Horizontal lines preserve unspecified upper and lower limits and shall not be treated as 0; Do not automatically interpolate, extrapolate, or assess compliance at unlisted distances.
- Table 8 temperatures are austenitizing conditions for the Jominy specimen, not production heat-treatment recommendations. No temperature tolerance is given; do not add ±5°C. Table 8 Note a holding time is indicative only, not a guaranteed requirement.
- 8.2.2 permits the manufacturer to demonstrate hardenability by calculation where a suitable formula exists; the manufacturer chooses the method and, when agreed at enquiry/order, supplies sufficient information for customer review. This tool has not implemented or certified such calculations.
- If no applicable formula exists or a dispute arises, use the end-quench test in EN ISO 642 and Table 9; use Table 8 specimen quenching temperature and the C scale of EN ISO 6508-1 for hardness. The source cites ISO 642:1999 and ISO 6508-1:2005; do not update the cited years.
- Table 9: When inspection certificates and corresponding requirements of Table 1 are applicable, heat C shall be the test unit, with 1 sample per 1 test. When dimensions do not allow for the preparation of end-quench specimens, the conditions for proving hardenability must be agreed upon; In other cases, unless otherwise agreed, the specimen preparation method shall be determined by the manufacturer.
- Table 9 sampling note b is printed “20 m”, conflicting in units with “20 mm” in note c; defer automatic interpretation of that sampling depth. Do not silently correct it or use it as a specimen-preparation instruction.
- The DIN original explicitly adopts EN10084:2008; display only according to this EN technical source; The supplementation of hardenability in this batch shall not be used to claim that the NF standard cover or other standard identities have been verified.
+H Normal hardenability band (7.1.2; applies to alloy steels in this standard unless otherwise agreed)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 39 | 47 |
| 3 | 37 | 46 |
| 5 | 34 | 45 |
| 7 | 30 | 42 |
| 9 | 27 | 39 |
| 11 | 24 | 37 |
| 13 | 22 | 35 |
| 15 | 21 | 34 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 31 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
+HH Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 42 | 47 |
| 3 | 40 | 46 |
| 5 | 38 | 45 |
| 7 | 34 | 42 |
| 9 | 31 | 39 |
| 11 | 28 | 37 |
| 13 | 26 | 35 |
| 15 | 25 | 34 |
| 20 | 22 | 31 |
| 25 | 20 | 29 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
+HL Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 39 | 44 |
| 3 | 37 | 43 |
| 5 | 34 | 41 |
| 7 | 30 | 38 |
| 9 | 27 | 35 |
| 11 | 24 | 33 |
| 13 | 22 | 31 |
| 15 | 21 | 30 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 23 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 22 |
18CrMo4 · DIN EN 10263-3-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-3-2002
- Table / clause
- Table 2 and notes a–c
- PDF page references
- 1、8
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The original webpage states DIN EN 10263-3-2018; The composition in this record was actually verified against DIN EN 10263-3-2002, Table 2; the edition is now identified as 2002 according to the original evidence; See the separate complete-table record for edition 2018. ; Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions. ; Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement. ; Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification. ; Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero. ; The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied. ; This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation.
Verification notes
The original webpage states DIN EN 10263-3-2018; The composition in this record was actually verified against DIN EN 10263-3-2002, Table 2; the edition is now identified as 2002 according to the original evidence; See the separate complete-table record for edition 2018.18CrMo4 · DIN EN 10263-3-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-3-2002
- Table / clause
- Table 2 and notes a–c
- PDF page references
- 1、8
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions. ; Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement. ; Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification. ; Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero. ; The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied. ; This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation.Composition conditions
- Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions.
- Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement.
- Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification.
- Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero.
- The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied.
- This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation.
Verification notes
German source cover, all 25 grades in Table 2 and notes a–c visually checked.18CrMo4 · EN 10263-3-2001
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10263-3-2001
- Table / clause
- Table 2 and notes a–c
- PDF page references
- 1、8
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions. ; Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement. ; Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification. ; Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero. ; The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied. ; This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation.
Verification notes
German source cover, all 25 grades in Table 2 and notes a–c visually checked.18CrMo4 · NF EN 10084-2008
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Composition basis in the adopted standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10084-2008
- Table / clause
- Table 3, notes a–d
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Applicability and limitations
NF EN 10084:2008-06 corresponds to EN 10084:2008; Composition is read from the verified official original text of this EN version; see Data Basis for the actual source document. Heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; The cover of DIN EN10084:2008-06 explicitly identifies it as the German version of EN10084:2008; Table 3 adopts this original text.. ; Note b: Minor composition deviations under hardenability requirements must be verified separately according to Table 4 and conditions; the default range shall not be expanded, and no such relaxation applies to P/S. ; Note c: Steel with higher S (up to approximately 0.10%) or Pb for improved machinability may be requested for supply.; In the former case, the Mn upper limit may be increased by 0.15 percentage points.. Actual agreed values are not provided; do not fill in arbitrarily or apply automatically. ; Note d: Boron in this table is used to improve toughness of the hardened zone; the original text specifies it is not used to increase hardenability. ; Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except additions needed to finish steelmaking; Unspecified values are not treated as zero. ; Delivery standards for carburizing steel do not equal suitability for cold-heading in all conditions; Mechanical properties, hardness, and hardenability shall be verified separately..
Verification notes
The adoption relationship and original corresponding EN composition table have been checked; The complete main text of NF has not been checked page by pageJominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10084:2008 · DIN EN 10084:2008-06, cover explicitly states German version of EN 10084:2008 · Table 5/Table 6/Table 8/Table 9; 7.1.2 and 8.2.2 · PDF pages 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23
- 7.1.2: Unless otherwise agreed, Table 5 normal +H hardenability requirements apply to alloy steels in this standard; restricted +HH/+HL bands in Table 6 must be agreed at enquiry/order. Viewing a selection is not contractual confirmation and does not change the ordinary grade designation or order conditions.
- HRC is hardness at a specified distance on a Jominy end-quench specimen, not bulk finished-part hardness, cold-heading acceptance, supply capability or part-performance guarantee.
- Horizontal lines preserve unspecified upper and lower limits and shall not be treated as 0; Do not automatically interpolate, extrapolate, or assess compliance at unlisted distances.
- Table 8 temperatures are austenitizing conditions for the Jominy specimen, not production heat-treatment recommendations. No temperature tolerance is given; do not add ±5°C. Table 8 Note a holding time is indicative only, not a guaranteed requirement.
- 8.2.2 permits the manufacturer to demonstrate hardenability by calculation where a suitable formula exists; the manufacturer chooses the method and, when agreed at enquiry/order, supplies sufficient information for customer review. This tool has not implemented or certified such calculations.
- If no applicable formula exists or a dispute arises, use the end-quench test in EN ISO 642 and Table 9; use Table 8 specimen quenching temperature and the C scale of EN ISO 6508-1 for hardness. The source cites ISO 642:1999 and ISO 6508-1:2005; do not update the cited years.
- Table 9: When inspection certificates and corresponding requirements of Table 1 are applicable, heat C shall be the test unit, with 1 sample per 1 test. When dimensions do not allow for the preparation of end-quench specimens, the conditions for proving hardenability must be agreed upon; In other cases, unless otherwise agreed, the specimen preparation method shall be determined by the manufacturer.
- Table 9 sampling note b is printed “20 m”, conflicting in units with “20 mm” in note c; defer automatic interpretation of that sampling depth. Do not silently correct it or use it as a specimen-preparation instruction.
- The DIN original explicitly adopts EN10084:2008; display only according to this EN technical source; The supplementation of hardenability in this batch shall not be used to claim that the NF standard cover or other standard identities have been verified.
+H Normal hardenability band (7.1.2; applies to alloy steels in this standard unless otherwise agreed)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 39 | 47 |
| 3 | 37 | 46 |
| 5 | 34 | 45 |
| 7 | 30 | 42 |
| 9 | 27 | 39 |
| 11 | 24 | 37 |
| 13 | 22 | 35 |
| 15 | 21 | 34 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 31 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
+HH Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 42 | 47 |
| 3 | 40 | 46 |
| 5 | 38 | 45 |
| 7 | 34 | 42 |
| 9 | 31 | 39 |
| 11 | 28 | 37 |
| 13 | 26 | 35 |
| 15 | 25 | 34 |
| 20 | 22 | 31 |
| 25 | 20 | 29 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
+HL Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)
End-quench test temperature 880 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 39 | 44 |
| 3 | 37 | 43 |
| 5 | 34 | 41 |
| 7 | 30 | 38 |
| 9 | 27 | 35 |
| 11 | 24 | 33 |
| 13 | 22 | 31 |
| 15 | 21 | 30 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 23 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 22 |
18CrMo4 · EN 10250-3-1999
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10250-3-1999
- Table / clause
- Table1 and note 1/2; Clauses 1, 3.1 and 3.2
- PDF page references
- 6、8、9
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Applicability and limitations
Based on the original Table 1 and footnotes of EN10250-3:1999 as recorded in BS EN10250-3:2000, heat analysis mass fraction is in wt%.. ; This standard covers alloy special-steel open-die forgings, forged bars and ring-rolled products after pre-forging, supplied in the quenched-and-tempered condition.; This does not automatically establish a supply standard for cold-heading wire.. ; Table 1 Note 1 allows the manufacturer to add Al, Ti, V, Nb individually or in combination to control grain size.; No new numerical ranges are provided; values cannot be filled as zero or have upper limits arbitrarily determined.. Elements not listed in Table 1/2 shall not be intentionally added without the consent of the purchaser (except additions needed to finish steelmaking).. ; 3.1 requires the heat analysis composition to be in accordance with Table 1 and references A.7/A.8 of EN10250-1.; Clause 3.2: Apply product-analysis tolerances separately under Table 2 and Clause 9.2 of EN10250-1; do not directly expand the default heat-analysis range.. ; Currently, only chemical compositions, grade/steel number correspondences, and related range footnotes are confirmed.; It is not declared that all mechanical properties and the referenced Part 1 have been verified..
Verification notes
Both pages, all 21 rows and footnotes of Table 1 were visually checked; Each element and its separate font mapping were restored and compared with the original table cells, with matching results18CrMo4 · DIN EN 10263-3-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02
- Table / clause
- Tabelle 3, footnote a and note 1–3; Tabelle 4 product-analysis tolerances require separate verification
- PDF page references
- 1、9
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.
Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02 is the German-language edition of EN 10263-3:2017; Verified according to the heat analysis and notes of Table 3 in the German official version.. ; Table 3 of DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02 specifies the heat analysis mass fraction in wt%.; Allowable deviations for product analysis shall follow Table 4; this table shall not be expanded unconditionally.. ; Si may be agreed at a lower content or a specific range at the time of ordering; the default in this table is ≤0.30%.. ; To improve cold-heading performance, Note 3 of Table 3 allows the optional addition of Al 0.020–0.050%.; This composition variant shall be applied only when explicitly selected.. ; Small deviations for hardenability orders must satisfy Note 2 and Table 4.; P/S shall not be relaxed by this means; the default composition table shall not be automatically expanded.. ; Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); unspecified does not represent zero.. ; This standard is for cold-heading and cold-extrusion, but specific product supply still requires confirmation of dimensions, delivery condition, surface, and performance requirements..
Original condition-branch records
Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Al | 0.02 ~ 0.05 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02, Table 3, row 16 visually checked; German edition adopts EN 10263-3:2017. The placement of B for 16MnCr5/16MnCrB5 follows the German original, not borrowed from the scanned English edition.18CrMo4 · EN 10263
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material form
- Drawn wire
- Verification status
- Published on the website; original-source verification pending
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Cr | 0.9 ~ 1.2 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Give priority to the published technical page on the Creation Group website. Use local reference ranges only as supplementary composition cross-checks; the applicable standard for that product page, the technical agreement and actual verification take precedence.
18CrMo4 · UNI 8550-1984
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Cr | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.4 |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.