16MNCRB5
7 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 16MNCRB5 →16MnCrB5 · EN 10263
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Drawn wire
- Original record status
- Reference transcription of standard
- Standard edition
- BS EN 10263-3:2017
- Table / clause
- Table 3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
BS EN 10263-3:2017; Heat analysis, mass percent; Values without a stated range are maxima; Notes below the table are retained. The B column in Table 3 is merged across rows and is not currently assigned to an individual grade; The B requirement for boron-containing grades still requires review of the original table meaning; composition must not be treated as complete. No edition is stated on the website; Displayed under this source edition; contract applicability is not established
Verification notes
Standard source: BS EN 10263-3:2017 · Table 3View associated products →16MnCrB5 · ISO 4954
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Cold-heading wire
- Original record status
- Reference transcription of standard
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table B.2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ISO 4954:2018; heat analysis, mass fraction %; values without a stated range are upper limits; see the source page for complete table footnotes. The website does not specify the edition; the source edition is shown here and does not establish contractual applicability.
Verification notes
Standard source: ISO 4954:2018 · Table B.2View associated products →16MnCrB5 · ISO 4954-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Case-hardening steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table B.2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ISO 4954:2018, Table B.2 gives heat analysis; A single value is a maximum; a dash is not zero. ; Product-analysis tolerances are listed separately under Table 2/3 of the standard and do not directly widen the heat-analysis composition ranges. ; Optional Al0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance; this is not a universal mandatory minimum. ; Low Si may be agreed in the order, taking hardenability into account; Where hardenability is required, the standard permits limited deviations, except for P/S; C must not exceed 0.01%; see Table 2 for the other requirements.
Verification notes
Original standard Table B.2 and footnotes verified16MnCrB5 · EN 10263-3-2017
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-3-2002
- Table / clause
- Table 2 and notes a–c
- PDF page references
- 1、8
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original DIN EN 10263-3-2002; The original record cites EN 10263-3-2017; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed. Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions. ; Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement. ; Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification. ; Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero. ; The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied. ; This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation. ; The B position is clear in this edition: no B is listed for 16MnCr5; 16MnCrB5 .0008–.005%; This does not establish that the 2017 uncertainty has been resolved.
Verification notes
The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original DIN EN 10263-3-2002; The original record cites EN 10263-3-2017; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed.Source uncertainties and differences
- Element
- B
- Original text: 16MnCr5
- .0008–.005
- Original text: 16MnCrB5
- blank
- Status
- Verification against official errata or another original edition is required; no value has been shifted on assumption
16MnCrB5 · DIN EN 10084-2008
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10084-2008
- Table / clause
- Table 3, notes a–d
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
Ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%; the DIN EN 10084:2008-06 cover expressly identifies the German edition of EN 10084:2008; Table 3 follows that source text. Note b: minor composition deviations associated with hardenability requirements must be checked separately against Table 4 and the applicable conditions; they do not widen default ranges, and no such relaxation applies to P/S. Note c: higher S (approximately up to 0.10%) or Pb may be requested for improved machinability; in the higher-S case, the Mn upper limit may increase by 0.15 percentage points. Actual agreed values are not given; do not invent them or apply them automatically. Note d: B in this table improves toughness in the hardened case, not hardenability. Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser approval (except as necessary during steelmaking); unspecified does not mean zero. A delivery standard for case-hardening steel does not mean all conditions are suitable for cold heading; verify mechanical properties, hardness and hardenability separately.
Verification notes
Original German Table 3 and its footnotes checkedJominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10084:2008 · DIN EN 10084:2008-06, cover explicitly states German version of EN 10084:2008 · Table 5/Table 6/Table 8/Table 9; 7.1.2 and 8.2.2 · PDF pages 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23
- 7.1.2: Unless otherwise agreed, Table 5 normal +H hardenability requirements apply to alloy steels in this standard; restricted +HH/+HL bands in Table 6 must be agreed at enquiry/order. Viewing a selection is not contractual confirmation and does not change the ordinary grade designation or order conditions.
- HRC is hardness at a specified distance on a Jominy end-quench specimen, not bulk finished-part hardness, cold-heading acceptance, supply capability or part-performance guarantee.
- Horizontal lines preserve unspecified upper and lower limits and shall not be treated as 0; Do not automatically interpolate, extrapolate, or assess compliance at unlisted distances.
- Table 8 temperatures are austenitizing conditions for the Jominy specimen, not production heat-treatment recommendations. No temperature tolerance is given; do not add ±5°C. Table 8 Note a holding time is indicative only, not a guaranteed requirement.
- 8.2.2 permits the manufacturer to demonstrate hardenability by calculation where a suitable formula exists; the manufacturer chooses the method and, when agreed at enquiry/order, supplies sufficient information for customer review. This tool has not implemented or certified such calculations.
- If no applicable formula exists or a dispute arises, use the end-quench test in EN ISO 642 and Table 9; use Table 8 specimen quenching temperature and the C scale of EN ISO 6508-1 for hardness. The source cites ISO 642:1999 and ISO 6508-1:2005; do not update the cited years.
- Table 9: When inspection certificates and corresponding requirements of Table 1 are applicable, heat C shall be the test unit, with 1 sample per 1 test. When dimensions do not allow for the preparation of end-quench specimens, the conditions for proving hardenability must be agreed upon; In other cases, unless otherwise agreed, the specimen preparation method shall be determined by the manufacturer.
- Table 9 sampling note b is printed “20 m”, conflicting in units with “20 mm” in note c; defer automatic interpretation of that sampling depth. Do not silently correct it or use it as a specimen-preparation instruction.
- The DIN original explicitly adopts EN10084:2008; display only according to this EN technical source; The supplementation of hardenability in this batch shall not be used to claim that the NF standard cover or other standard identities have been verified.
+H Normal hardenability band (7.1.2; applies to alloy steels in this standard unless otherwise agreed)
End-quench test condition temperature 870 (tolerance not listed in source document) °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 39 | 47 |
| 3 | 36 | 46 |
| 5 | 31 | 44 |
| 7 | 28 | 41 |
| 9 | 24 | 39 |
| 11 | 21 | 37 |
| 13 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 35 |
| 15 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 33 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 31 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 30 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
+HH Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)
End-quench test condition temperature 870 (tolerance not listed in source document) °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 42 | 47 |
| 3 | 39 | 46 |
| 5 | 35 | 44 |
| 7 | 32 | 41 |
| 9 | 29 | 39 |
| 11 | 26 | 37 |
| 13 | 24 | 35 |
| 15 | 22 | 33 |
| 20 | 20 | 31 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 30 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
+HL Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)
End-quench test condition temperature 870 (tolerance not listed in source document) °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 39 | 44 |
| 3 | 36 | 43 |
| 5 | 31 | 40 |
| 7 | 28 | 37 |
| 9 | 24 | 34 |
| 11 | 21 | 32 |
| 13 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 30 |
| 15 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 28 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 23 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 22 |
16MnCrB5 · DIN EN 10263-3-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-3-2002
- Table / clause
- Table 2 and notes a–c
- PDF page references
- 1、8
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions. ; Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement. ; Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification. ; Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero. ; The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied. ; This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation. ; The B position is clear in this edition: no B is listed for 16MnCr5; 16MnCrB5 .0008–.005%; This does not establish that the 2017 uncertainty has been resolved.
Verification notes
German source cover, all 25 grades in Table 2 and notes a–c visually checked.16MnCrB5 · DIN EN 10263-3-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02
- Table / clause
- Tabelle 3, footnote a and note 1–3; Tabelle 4 product-analysis tolerances require separate verification
- PDF page references
- 1、9
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.
Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02 is the German-language edition of EN 10263-3:2017; Verified according to the heat analysis and notes of Table 3 in the German official version.. ; Table 3 of DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02 specifies the heat analysis mass fraction in wt%.; Allowable deviations for product analysis shall follow Table 4; this table shall not be expanded unconditionally.. ; Si may be agreed at a lower content or a specific range at the time of ordering; the default in this table is ≤0.30%.. ; To improve cold-heading performance, Note 3 of Table 3 allows the optional addition of Al 0.020–0.050%.; This composition variant shall be applied only when explicitly selected.. ; Small deviations for hardenability orders must satisfy Note 2 and Table 4.; P/S shall not be relaxed by this means; the default composition table shall not be automatically expanded.. ; Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); unspecified does not represent zero.. ; This standard is for cold-heading and cold-extrusion, but specific product supply still requires confirmation of dimensions, delivery condition, surface, and performance requirements..
Original condition-branch records
Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.14 ~ 0.19 |
| Mn | 1.0 ~ 1.3 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.8 ~ 1.1 |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Al | 0.02 ~ 0.05 |