← BackMaterial grade directory

15B28H

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 15B28H →

15B28H · SAE J1268-2010

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J1268-2010
Table / clause
Table 1 and Notes 1/2; Clause 3
PDF page references
1、2、3

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4167–0.5900 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3075–0.4417Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3500–0.4900 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.25 ~ 0.34
Mn1.0 ~ 1.5
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
B0.0005 ~ 0.003

Applicability and limitations

SAE J1268 MAY2010: Table 1 of the official English original, ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%, for H steels with specified hardenability bands. Note 1 to Table 1: when electric-furnace steelmaking is specified or required, add the E prefix to the grade; each of P/S is ≤.025%. Keep these separate from ordinary H grades. Note 2 to Table 1: boron steels, B .0005–.003%. Do not assign J403/J404 values to unlisted residual alloy elements; unspecified does not mean zero. The permitted composition ranges for H steels are intended to meet the hardenability band and are not merged with same-name grades without H. Product-analysis tolerances require separate verification under Table 1/3 of SAE J409. Hardenability curves, grain size, delivery conditions and cold-heading supply require separate verification. Original Table 1 explicitly associates SAE 15B28H with UNS H15281; this is a search-name relationship within that edition only.

Verification notes

All 14 rows and footnotes of official original Table 1 visually checked; E grades interpreted according to Note 1.

15B28H · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.18 SAE · Carbon steels / Boron steels · H (Edition unspecified)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Bars and wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
Document title
Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
Table / clause
7.1.18 SAE · Carbon steels / Boron steels · H (Edition unspecified)
PDF page references
24
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
CHINA STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.4167–0.5900 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3075–0.4417Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3500–0.4900 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.25 ~ 0.34
Mn1.0 ~ 1.5
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
B0.0005 ~ 0.003

Applicability and limitations

China Steel bar and wire-rod catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 24

printed page 22, 7.1.18 SAE carbon/boron H steels (edition not stated). The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →