12L14
7 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 12L14 →12L14 · SAE J403-2014
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J403-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 3B
- PDF page references
- 7
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Cast or heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual B (default unless separately agreed)
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual A
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual C
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
SAE J403 Revised JUN2014 Table 3B: original cast or heat analysis, mass fraction wt%. Product-analysis deviations are addressed separately under SAE J409; J409 is not used to widen this table's limits. UNS G12144 and SAE 12L14 are names directly listed in the same row of this table; other standards or editions are not treated as this edition. Unless residual elements are otherwise specified, the default is B. A/B/C is selected for the applicable product form/agreement. No limit is listed for D, but the amount of Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo must still be reported; it is not treated as zero. To demonstrate table compliance, Cu/Cr/Ni/Mo/Si must be reported in addition to C/Mn/P/S. A value below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02% as specified in the source; this is neither a universal upper limit nor zero. Table 3A/3B covers forged semi-finished products, bars, wire rod and seamless tubes of free-cutting carbon steels; it is not presented as universal composition requirements for flat products. Retain the two-sided P/S range in this row. V0.04–0.08% for 11V41 is an explicit row requirement; ordinary 11xx does not include V. Si is normally not specified for 12xx to avoid impairing machinability. Unspecified Si remains unknown and must be reported under 3.1, not treated as zero. Pb is included only in the row for 12L14; ordinary 1212/1213/1215 does not include Pb. The identities L and UNS G12144 are retained. A free-cutting application does not establish cold-heading suitability; delivery, project-specific processing and supply require separate confirmation. 3.1 and Table 6 require reporting C/Mn/P/S/Si/Al/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo/Nb(Cb)/Ti/V/B/N; As/Sb is also reported when requested by the purchaser. Si/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02%, and Nb/Ti/V below 0.008% as <0.008%. These are reporting thresholds, not universal composition maxima; they do not justify filling in zero or an unspecified limit.
Original condition-branch records
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual B (default unless separately agreed)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual A
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual C
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated) |
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The original 2014 text was checked across four tables and 79 rows, including composition cells, product-form columns, UNS designations and notes; sources and distinct order conditions are retained separately.12L14 · SAE J 403-2001
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J403 NOV2001
- Table / clause
- Table3B and footnotes
- PDF page references
- 1、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Table 3B SAE12L14 corresponds to UNS G12144; Heat analysis wt%. ; Resulfurized
rephosphorized free-cutting steels; Machining performance characteristics do not prove suitability for cold heading forming, and cold heading products are not automatically added. ; The addition of Pb requires L identification and corresponding UNS; This record includes only the explicitly tabulated Pb .15–.35% for 12L14; do not merge this Pb addition into the data for other ordinary grades. ; Elements required to be reported do not equal uniform limits; Unspecified elements are not entered as zero; Product-analysis deviation under J409 requires separate verification. ; The 12xx series typically does not specify Si to avoid adverse effects on machinability; P/S is a bilateral range rather than only an upper limit.
Verification notes
All composition values and footnotes in PDF5, Table 3A/3B were visually checked12L14 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2012
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–G
- PDF page references
- 1、3、4
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
2012 original text Table 1 heat analysis mass fraction wt%; The applicability and deviations of product analysis must be separately confirmed according to 4.3 and Table 5. Grades and product forms are retained as listed in this standard; suitability for cold heading is not automatically guaranteed. Note D only specifies Pb 0.15–0.35% for lead-bearing 'L' grades; Standard grades without 'L' shall not automatically include Pb. Note F: Additions of Bi/Ca/Se/Te are subject to agreement between the supplier and purchaser; do not enter zero when no value is specified..
Verification notes
The 2012 Table 1 and footnotes have been checked; order-specific optional compositions and base-table limits remain separate.12L14 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2023
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–G
- PDF page references
- 5
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis; When lead is added to the ladle stream, its cast/heat analysis cannot be determined
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Original ASTM A29/A29M-2023, Table 1: the basic table gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; Product-analysis tolerances require separate confirmation under 4.3 and Table 5 and are not added to heat-analysis limits. When 4.1.1 is ordered by a grade in this table, the corresponding heat-analysis limits must be met; Other ordered compositions require separate agreement under 4.1.2 and Table 3/4 and are not merged into this table. General requirements for hot-worked bars; chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading suitability, supply or mechanical properties. Note D: Pb for leaded steel is 0.15–0.35%; L must remain part of the grade identity and is not included in ordinary grades; If lead is added in the ladle stream, its cast or heat-analysis content cannot be determined. Note F: Bi/Ca/Se/Te is specified by purchaser-supplier agreement; Unspecified numerical values are not entered as zero. The 4.3.2 product-analysis tolerance restrictions for P and S do not apply to resulfurized or rephosphorized/resulfurized steels; Product-analysis tolerances are not added to heat-analysis limits. This record is excluded from automatic composition reverse matching because the lead-analysis condition remains unresolved.
Verification notes
Existing OCR of the four-page, 190-row original 2023 table was parsed cell by cell. All values were screened for differences against independent 2012 data and checked against the original 2023 images and footnotes; no values were filled from the older edition.12L14 · ASTM A510/A510M-2013
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
This grade follows a free-cutting or leaded-steel route; it is not recommended for cold heading and is excluded from material recommendations for fastener strength classes.
12L14 · ASTM A519/A519M-2024
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.85 ~ 1.15 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
This grade follows a free-cutting or leaded-steel route; it is not recommended for cold heading and is excluded from material recommendations for fastener strength classes.
12L14 · AS 1442-2007
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.8 ~ 1.2 |
| Mo | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| S | 0.25 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
This grade follows a free-cutting or leaded-steel route; it is not recommended for cold heading and is excluded from material recommendations for fastener strength classes.