1211
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 1211 →1211 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2012
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–G
- PDF page references
- 1、3、4
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.13 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.1 ~ 0.15 |
Applicability and limitations
2012 original text Table 1 heat analysis mass fraction wt%; The applicability and deviations of product analysis must be separately confirmed according to 4.3 and Table 5. Grades and product forms are retained as listed in this standard; suitability for cold heading is not automatically guaranteed. Note D only specifies Pb 0.15–0.35% for lead-bearing 'L' grades; Standard grades without 'L' shall not automatically include Pb. Note F: Additions of Bi/Ca/Se/Te are subject to agreement between the supplier and purchaser; do not enter zero when no value is specified..
Verification notes
The 2012 Table 1 and footnotes have been checked; order-specific optional compositions and base-table limits remain separate.1211 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Free-cutting steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
- Document title
- Wire rod
- Table / clause
- Printed page 19, composition table 4 (local table index)
- PDF page references
- 10
- Unit
- Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
- Analysis type
- The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
- Manufacturer
- POSCO
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.13 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.08 ~ 0.13 |
Applicability and limitations
Locally held POSCO wire rod catalogue, PDF page 10
printed page 19, table index 3, row 12. The original edition number is not stated. The PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not a standard publication year. Manufacturer range data do not constitute our company’s supply guarantee.
Composition conditions
- Original catalog chemical composition table %, wire rod; Editions of JIS/SAE/DIN were not provided; catalog data shall not be upgraded to the verified official editions of these standards.
- Dashes are not zero; cast/product analysis types are not consistently explicit. Orders, product-analysis deviations and actual supply require separate verification.
Verification notes
The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.1211 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2023
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–G
- PDF page references
- 4
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis (composition ranges and limits in the original table)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.13 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.1 ~ 0.15 |
Applicability and limitations
Original ASTM A29/A29M-2023, Table 1: the basic table gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; Product-analysis tolerances require separate confirmation under 4.3 and Table 5 and are not added to heat-analysis limits. When 4.1.1 is ordered by a grade in this table, the corresponding heat-analysis limits must be met; Other ordered compositions require separate agreement under 4.1.2 and Table 3/4 and are not merged into this table. General requirements for hot-worked bars; chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading suitability, supply or mechanical properties. Note D: Pb for leaded steel is 0.15–0.35%; L must remain part of the grade identity and is not included in ordinary grades; If lead is added in the ladle stream, its cast or heat-analysis content cannot be determined. Note F: Bi/Ca/Se/Te is specified by purchaser-supplier agreement; Unspecified numerical values are not entered as zero. The 4.3.2 product-analysis tolerance restrictions for P and S do not apply to resulfurized or rephosphorized/resulfurized steels; Product-analysis tolerances are not added to heat-analysis limits.