3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Table / clause
Table 1, footnotes A–G
PDF page references
1、3、4
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4175–0.5125Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4175–0.5158 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4208–0.5192 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4225–0.5242 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4242–0.5258 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4275–0.5325 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Applicability and limitations
2012 original text Table 1 heat analysis mass fraction wt%; The applicability and deviations of product analysis must be separately confirmed according to 4.3 and Table 5. Grades and product forms are retained as listed in this standard; suitability for cold heading is not automatically guaranteed. The Si listed in Note B is an option to be specified in the order; Unknown when unspecified, do not fill as zero. Note D only specifies Pb 0.15–0.35% for lead-bearing 'L' grades; Standard grades without 'L' shall not automatically include Pb. Note F: Additions of Bi/Ca/Se/Te are subject to agreement between the supplier and purchaser; do not enter zero when no value is specified..
Original condition-branch records
Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
0.1 ~ 0.2
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
0.15 ~ 0.35
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
0.2 ~ 0.4
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
0.3 ~ 0.6
A condition branch must be selected
Yes
Verification notes
The 2012 Table 1 and footnotes have been checked; order-specific optional compositions and base-table limits remain separate.
1139 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
Material category
Free-cutting steel
Subcategory
Free-cutting steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
Analysis type
The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
Manufacturer
POSCO
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4208–0.5192 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Composition
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Si
0.1 ~ 0.2
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.08 ~ 0.13
Applicability and limitations
Locally held POSCO wire rod catalogue, PDF page 10
printed page 19, table index 3, row 6. The original edition number is not stated. The PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not a standard publication year. Manufacturer range data do not constitute our company’s supply guarantee.
Composition conditions
Original catalog chemical composition table %, wire rod; Editions of JIS/SAE/DIN were not provided; catalog data shall not be upgraded to the verified official editions of these standards.
Dashes are not zero; cast/product analysis types are not consistently explicit. Orders, product-analysis deviations and actual supply require separate verification.
Verification notes
The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.
1139 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Table / clause
Table 1, footnotes A–G
PDF page references
4
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis (composition ranges and limits in the original table)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4175–0.5125Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4175–0.5158 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4208–0.5192 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4225–0.5242 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4242–0.5258 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.5750–0.7050 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4275–0.5325 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4850–0.5950 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Applicability and limitations
Original ASTM A29/A29M-2023, Table 1: the basic table gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; Product-analysis tolerances require separate confirmation under 4.3 and Table 5 and are not added to heat-analysis limits. When 4.1.1 is ordered by a grade in this table, the corresponding heat-analysis limits must be met; Other ordered compositions require separate agreement under 4.1.2 and Table 3/4 and are not merged into this table. General requirements for hot-worked bars; chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading suitability, supply or mechanical properties. The Si ranges in note B are common options when required by the order; Default Si is unspecified; neither a universal Si range nor zero may be assumed. Note D: Pb for leaded steel is 0.15–0.35%; L must remain part of the grade identity and is not included in ordinary grades; If lead is added in the ladle stream, its cast or heat-analysis content cannot be determined. Note F: Bi/Ca/Se/Te is specified by purchaser-supplier agreement; Unspecified numerical values are not entered as zero. The 4.3.2 product-analysis tolerance restrictions for P and S do not apply to resulfurized or rephosphorized/resulfurized steels; Product-analysis tolerances are not added to heat-analysis limits.
Original condition-branch records
Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under Table 1 note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under Table 1 note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
0.1 ~ 0.2
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under Table 1 note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
0.15 ~ 0.35
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under Table 1 note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
0.2 ~ 0.4
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under Table 1 note B
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.35 ~ 0.43
Mn
1.35 ~ 1.65
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
0.13 ~ 0.2
Si
0.3 ~ 0.6
A condition branch must be selected
Yes
Verification notes
Existing OCR of the four-page, 190-row original 2023 table was parsed cell by cell. All values were screened for differences against independent 2012 data and checked against the original 2023 images and footnotes; no values were filled from the older edition.WhatsAppTechnical enquiry →