← BackMaterial grade directory

1138

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 1138 →

1138 · SAE J 403-2001

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J403 NOV2001
Table / clause
Table3A and footnotes
PDF page references
1、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4567–0.5667 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3750–0.4500Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4100–0.5000 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.34 ~ 0.4
Mn0.7 ~ 1
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Applicability and limitations

Table 3A: SAE1138 corresponds to UNS G11380; heat analysis, wt%. Resulfurized/rephosphorized free-cutting steels: machinability characteristics do not establish cold-heading suitability, and no cold-heading product is added automatically. Addition of Pb requires the L designation and corresponding UNS. In this record, only 12L14 uses the explicitly listed Pb .15–.35%; other ordinary grades do not include Pb. Mandatory element reporting does not establish universal limits. Unspecified elements are not assigned zero; product-analysis deviations under J409 require separate verification. When Si is specified, common wire-rod options are ≤.10, .10–.20 or .15–.35%. Bars/semi-finished products follow the notes to Table 1; wire-rod ranges do not apply automatically.

Verification notes

All composition values and footnotes in PDF5, Table 3A/3B were visually checked

1138 · SAE J403-2014

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Free-cutting carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J403-2014
Table / clause
Table 3A
PDF page references
7
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Cast or heat analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual B (default unless separately agreed)
IIW / CEV:0.4567–0.6587Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3750–0.4857Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4100–0.5397 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual A
IIW / CEV:0.4567–0.6353Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3750–0.4748Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4100–0.5285 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual C
IIW / CEV:0.4567–0.7040Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3750–0.4997Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4100–0.5570 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)
IIW / CEV:0.4567–0.5667 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3750–0.4500Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4100–0.5000 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.34 ~ 0.4
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

SAE J403 Revised JUN2014 Table 3A: original cast or heat analysis, mass fraction wt%. Product-analysis deviations are addressed separately under SAE J409; J409 is not used to widen this table's limits. UNS G11380 and SAE 1138 are names directly listed in the same row of this table; other standards or editions are not treated as this edition. Unless residual elements are otherwise specified, the default is B. A/B/C is selected for the applicable product form/agreement. No limit is listed for D, but the amount of Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo must still be reported; it is not treated as zero. To demonstrate table compliance, Cu/Cr/Ni/Mo/Si must be reported in addition to C/Mn/P/S. A value below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02% as specified in the source; this is neither a universal upper limit nor zero. Table 3A/3B covers forged semi-finished products, bars, wire rod and seamless tubes of free-cutting carbon steels; it is not presented as universal composition requirements for flat products. Retain the two-sided P/S range in this row. V0.04–0.08% for 11V41 is an explicit row requirement; ordinary 11xx does not include V. Si is normally not specified for 12xx to avoid impairing machinability. Unspecified Si remains unknown and must be reported under 3.1, not treated as zero. Pb is included only in the row for 12L14; ordinary 1212/1213/1215 does not include Pb. The identities L and UNS G12144 are retained. A free-cutting application does not establish cold-heading suitability; delivery, project-specific processing and supply require separate confirmation. 3.1 and Table 6 require reporting C/Mn/P/S/Si/Al/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo/Nb(Cb)/Ti/V/B/N; As/Sb is also reported when requested by the purchaser. Si/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02%, and Nb/Ti/V below 0.008% as <0.008%. These are reporting thresholds, not universal composition maxima; they do not justify filling in zero or an unspecified limit.

Original condition-branch records

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual B (default unless separately agreed)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.34 ~ 0.4
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual A

ElementComposition requirement
C0.34 ~ 0.4
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.34 ~ 0.4
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Cu≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated)

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.34 ~ 0.4
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The original 2014 text was checked across four tables and 79 rows, including composition cells, product-form columns, UNS designations and notes; sources and distinct order conditions are retained separately.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →