1085
4 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 1085 →1085 · SAE J 403-2001
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J403 NOV2001
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and Notes 1, 2 and *
- PDF page references
- 1、3、4
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1: UNS G10850 corresponds to SAE 1085; heat analysis, wt%. Si is not a universally mandatory constituent. When specified, common limits for bars/semi-finished products are ≤.10, .10–.20, .15–.35, .20–.40 and .30–.60%; wire rod also has the .07–.15% option. This record does not select a range without agreement. When Cu is required, ≥.20% is generally specified; this is neither a universal upper limit for Cu nor a default requirement. Addition of Pb at .15–.35% requires the L designation and a change to UNS; addition of B at .0005–.003% requires the B designation. These treatments are not included in ordinary grades. Lower P/S limits for certain qualities/products require separate verification against J411; agreement values from later editions are not imported. A requirement to report additional elements does not establish universal limits in this table. Unspecified Si/Cr/Ni/Mo and other elements are not assigned zero. Product-analysis deviations under J409 require separate verification.
Verification notes
Official English Table 1 and footnotes visually checked.1085 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
- Document title
- Wire rod
- Table / clause
- Printed page 16, composition table 1 (local table index)
- PDF page references
- 9
- Unit
- Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
- Analysis type
- The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
- Manufacturer
- POSCO
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
POSCO local wire rod catalogue, PDF page 9
printed page 16, table index 0, row 28. The original edition number is not stated; the PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not the standard publication year. Manufacturer range information does not constitute our supply guarantee. Condition: the original table lists several alternative Si ranges; footnotes require confirmation by grade and between purchaser and supplier. Do not merge all options into one broad range or select any option by default.
Composition conditions
- Original catalog chemical composition table %, wire rod; Editions of JIS/SAE/DIN were not provided; catalog data shall not be upgraded to the verified official editions of these standards.
- Dashes are not zero; cast/product analysis types are not consistently explicit. Orders, product-analysis deviations and actual supply require separate verification.
- The original table gives several optional Si ranges; its footnote requires confirmation for the grade and agreement between supplier and purchaser; Do not merge all options into a single wide range, nor default to any single option.
Verification notes
The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.1085 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / SAE J403 NOV.2001
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
- Document title
- Nippon Steel Wire Rods
- Table / clause
- Printed page 10, table index 0
- PDF page references
- 7
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
- Manufacturer
- NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Nippon Steel wire rod catalogue EXE203 (historical material, 2008.3), PDF p. 7
printed p. 10, SAE J403 NOV.2001. The source table does not specify the analysis type. Manufacturer-range data, not a standard-guaranteed value or heat-lot test, and not a representation of our supply. Condition: Si is an optional value subject to agreement as stated in the source; do not select by default or merge into one broad range. Until selected, do not use it in a complete calculation or assessment. Pb 0.15–0.35 and B 0.0005–0.0030 are optional additions with L/B designation; do not add them automatically to ordinary grades. Special low-P/S quality requires separate agreement verification.
Composition conditions
- Original catalogue mass percentages, historical manufacturer data from 2008.3; Referenced standard names and editions follow the original document; this does not establish that the official texts of those standards have been obtained and verified.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as 0; only chemical composition has been checked in this batch. Mechanical properties and actual supply require separate verification under the applicable conditions.
- Si follows the agreed options in the original text; no option is selected by default, and the options are not merged into one wider range; If not selected, it is excluded from complete calculations or assessments.
- Pb 0.15–0.35 and B 0.0005–0.0030 are options requiring an additional L/B designation and are not automatically included in ordinary grades in the original table; Special-quality low P/S requires separate verification of the agreement.
Verification notes
Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.1085 · SAE J403-2014
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J403-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 1
- PDF page references
- 4
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Cast or heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group B (default unless otherwise agreed)
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group A
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group C
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group D (no limit specified, but reporting is required)
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group B (default unless otherwise agreed)
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group C
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group D (no limit specified, but reporting is required)
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Original SAE J403 Revised JUN2014 Table 1 cast or heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; Product-analysis tolerances are applied separately under SAE J409; J409 is not used to widen this table. UNS G10850 and SAE 1085 are names directly listed on the same row of this table; other standards or editions are not conflated with this edition. Where residual elements are not specified separately, the default is B; A/B/C is selected for the corresponding form or agreement; D has no tabulated limit, but the quantity of Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo must still be reported and is not treated as zero. To demonstrate compliance with the table, Cu/Cr/Ni/Mo/Si must be reported in addition to C/Mn/P/S; Below 0.02%, the original document permits reporting as <0.02%; this is neither a universal maximum nor zero. P/S conditions for flat and long products must be selected separately; the wider maxima must not be combined; 1006/1008 Mn is selected by form under Table 1, note 6/7. Si is specified only by agreement in the order; Common wire-rod options are ≤0.10, 0.07–0.15, 0.10–0.20, 0.15–0.35, 0.20–0.40 and 0.30–0.60%; The common 0.07–0.15 option is not listed for other products. Contract values must be checked against product form; no fixed Si is entered without agreement. Ordinary grades in this table do not automatically include Pb or B. Separately leaded or boron-treated grades require the L/B designation and the corresponding UNS; the original Pb0.15–0.35% and B0.0005–0.003% apply to that treatment condition and are not included in ordinary steel. Residual A conditions for flat products require separate agreement; No value is provided for that condition in this batch, so it is excluded from selectable calculations and automatic reverse-matching branches. Long-product A and the remaining source-supported branches are retained separately. Table 1, note 3: where Cu is specifically required, Cu≥0.20% is usually specified; The residual options in this batch control residual content only; intentional Cu addition conditions are not unconditionally combined with residual maxima. The specific ordering range requires separate agreement; this special Cu condition is not assessed automatically. 3.1 and Table 6 require reporting of C/Mn/P/S/Si/Al/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo/Nb(Cb)/Ti/V/B/N; As/Sb is additionally reported when requested by the purchaser. Si/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02%; Nb/Ti/V below 0.008% may be reported as <0.008%. These are reporting thresholds, not general composition maxima; they are not used to insert zeros or invent limits.
Original condition-branch records
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group B (default unless otherwise agreed)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group A
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group C
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated) |
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group D (no limit specified, but reporting is required)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group B (default unless otherwise agreed)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group C
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated) |
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group D (no limit specified, but reporting is required)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.8 ~ 0.93 |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |