1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J403-2014
Table / clause
Table 1
PDF page references
3
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Cast or heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group B (default unless otherwise agreed)
IIW / CEV:0.0200–0.2103Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0200–0.1132Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0200–0.1348 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group A
IIW / CEV:0.0200–0.1870Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0200–0.1023Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0200–0.1235 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group C
IIW / CEV:0.0200–0.2557Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0200–0.1272Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0200–0.1520 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group D (no limit specified, but reporting is required)
IIW / CEV:0.0200–0.1183Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0200–0.0775Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0200–0.0950Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group B (default unless otherwise agreed)
IIW / CEV:0.0200–0.2103Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0200–0.1132Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0200–0.1348 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Flat products: sections, plate, strip, sheet and welded tube (as defined in Note 1); residual category A
IIW / CEV:0.0200–0.1870Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0200–0.1023Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0200–0.1235 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group C
IIW / CEV:0.0200–0.2557Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0200–0.1272Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0200–0.1520 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group D (no limit specified, but reporting is required)
IIW / CEV:0.0200–0.1183Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0200–0.0775Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0200–0.0950Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni
≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr
≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo
≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)
Applicability and limitations
Original SAE J403 Revised JUN2014 Table 1 cast or heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; Product-analysis tolerances are applied separately under SAE J409; J409 is not used to widen this table. UNS G10030 and SAE 1003 are names directly listed on the same row of this table; other standards or editions are not conflated with this edition. Where residual elements are not specified separately, the default is B; A/B/C is selected for the corresponding form or agreement; D has no tabulated limit, but the quantity of Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo must still be reported and is not treated as zero. To demonstrate compliance with the table, Cu/Cr/Ni/Mo/Si must be reported in addition to C/Mn/P/S; Below 0.02%, the original document permits reporting as <0.02%; this is neither a universal maximum nor zero. P/S conditions for flat and long products must be selected separately; the wider maxima must not be combined; 1006/1008 Mn is selected by form under Table 1, note 6/7. Si is specified only by agreement in the order; Common wire-rod options are ≤0.10, 0.07–0.15, 0.10–0.20, 0.15–0.35, 0.20–0.40 and 0.30–0.60%; The common 0.07–0.15 option is not listed for other products. Contract values must be checked against product form; no fixed Si is entered without agreement. Ordinary grades in this table do not automatically include Pb or B. Separately leaded or boron-treated grades require the L/B designation and the corresponding UNS; the original Pb0.15–0.35% and B0.0005–0.003% apply to that treatment condition and are not included in ordinary steel. Table 1, note 3: where Cu is specifically required, Cu≥0.20% is usually specified; The residual options in this batch control residual content only; intentional Cu addition conditions are not unconditionally combined with residual maxima. The specific ordering range requires separate agreement; this special Cu condition is not assessed automatically. Table 1, note 4: this row must not be supplied as extra-low-carbon, IF-stabilized or unstabilized steel; A low C value does not override this restriction. 3.1 and Table 6 require reporting of C/Mn/P/S/Si/Al/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo/Nb(Cb)/Ti/V/B/N; As/Sb is additionally reported when requested by the purchaser. Si/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02%; Nb/Ti/V below 0.008% may be reported as <0.008%. These are reporting thresholds, not general composition maxima; they are not used to insert zeros or invent limits.
Original condition-branch records
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group B (default unless otherwise agreed)
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni
≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr
≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo
≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group A
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu
≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni
≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr
≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo
≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group C
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu
≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Ni
≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Cr
≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mo
≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated)
Long products: forged semifinished products, hot-rolled/cold-finished bars, wire rod and seamless tubes; residual-element group D (no limit specified, but reporting is required)
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group B (default unless otherwise agreed)
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cu
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni
≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr
≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo
≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)
Flat products: sections, plate, strip, sheet and welded tube (as defined in Note 1); residual category A
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cu
≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni
≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr
≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo
≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group C
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cu
≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Ni
≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Cr
≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mo
≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated)
Flat products: structural shapes, plate, strip, sheet and welded pipe (as defined in note 1); residual-element group D (no limit specified, but reporting is required)
Element
Composition requirement
C
0.02 ~ 0.06
Mn
≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P
≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S
≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
A condition branch must be selected
Yes
Verification notes
The original 2014 text was checked across four tables and 79 rows, including composition cells, product-form columns, UNS designations and notes; sources and distinct order conditions are retained separately.WhatsAppTechnical enquiry →